Workshops for Beginning and Experienced Monitors

These workshops are for both beginning & experienced monitors. We’ll teach and review the calls of our 13 frog and toad species, help monitors find survey sites, and discuss the monitoring protocol. Experienced monitors are encouraged to attend, in order to learn any protocol changes, obtain data sheets, review frog calls, and share lessons learned from last year. Volunteers only need to attend one workshop.

For a PDF version of the 2018 schedule click:  The Calling Frog Survey 2018 Workshops update.

WORKSHOP LOCATIONS

COOK COUNTY-CHICAGO

Thursday, February 22nd 6:00 -8:00 pm
The Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum
2430 North Cannon Drive
To register by Feb. 16th, contact Allison Sacerdote-Velat asacerdote-velat@naturemuseum.org

COOK COUNTY-CHICAGO

Thursday, February 8th 6:00-8:00 pm
Volunteer Resource Center
6100 N. Central Avenue, Chicago, IL 60646
To register by Jan. 29th, contact Mary Busch at Mary.Busch@cookcountyil.gov

COOK COUNTY-CHICAGO

Saturday, February 10th 10:00 am-12:00 pm
Lincoln Park Conservatory
2391 N. Stockton Drive, Chicago, IL 60616
To register by Feb. 6th, contact Aaron Hammond at ahammond@lincolnparkconservancy.org

COOK COUNTY-LEMONT

Saturday, February 17th 10:00 am-Noon
Sagawau Environmental Learning Center
1245 W111th Street, Lemont, IL 60439
To register by Jan. 29th, contact Mary Busch at Mary.Busch@cookcountyil.gov

DUPAGE COUNTY-WEST CHICAGO

Saturday, February 10th 1:00 -3:00 pm
Blackwell Forest Preserve-Grounds and Resources Complex
29W220 Mack Road, West Chicago, IL 60185
To register by February 2nd, contact Cindy Hedges at chedges@dupageforest.org

KANE AND KENDALL COUNTIES-ST. CHARLES

Saturday, February 17th 10:00 am-Noon
Hickory Knolls Nature Center
3795 Campton Hills Road, St. Charles, IL 60175
To register, contact Pam Otto at potto@stcparks.org

KANE AND KENDALL COUNTIES-ST. CHARLES

Wednesday, February 28th 6:00-8:00 pm
Sugar Grove Campus
Waubonsee Community College
Route 47 at Waubonsee Drive
Science Building (North Side of Campus) Room 234

To register by February 23, contact Robb Cleave at cleaverobb@kaneforest.com, 630-762-2741.

 

LAKE COUNTY-DEERFIELD

Tuesday, February 13th 7:00-9:00pm
Ryerson Conservation Area’s Welcome Center
21950 N. Riverwoods Road
To register, contact Gary Glowacki at 847-968-3264

 LAKE AND MCHENRY COUNTIES-INGLESIDE

Sunday, February 25th 1:00-3:00pm
Volo Bog Visitor Center
28478 W Brandenburg Rd, Ingleside, IL 60041
To register, contact Allison Sacerdote-Velat at asacerdote-velat@naturemuseum.org

WILL COUNTY-JOLIET

Saturday, February 1oth 8:00-10:00am
Sugar Creek Administration Center
1740 West Laraway Rd.
To register, contact Jason Buss at 815-722-8191 or jbuss@fpdwc.org

WINNEBAGO COUNTY-ROCKFORD

Saturday, February 24th, 9:00-11:00am
Winnebago County Forest Preserve District Headquarters
5500 Northrock Drive  Rockford, IL 61102
To register, contact Kim O’Malley at 815-877-6100

NORTHWEST INDIANA-LAKE AND PORTER COUNTIES-VALPARAISO

Thursday, February 15th, 7:00-9:00pm
Meadowbrook Conservation Center & Preserve
109 W. 700 North, Valparaiso, IN 46385
To register, contact Sarah Barnes at 219-242-8558 or sbarnes@heinzetrust.org by February 8, 2018

Tuesday, February 20th, 7:00-9:00pm
Meadowbrook Conservation Center & Preserve
109 W. 700 North, Valparaiso, IN 46385
To register, contact Sarah Barnes at 219-242-8558 or sbarnes@heinzetrust.org by February 13, 2018